Skip to content

A Simple Request?

December 12, 2014

The Question

On Dec 12, I asked what I thought was a fairly straightforward question on Twitter of a few people. I asked:

But, the response that I received was far from simple, and, in hindsight, I should have known better. To simply base one’s teaching practice on a single expert, mentor, or philosopher would be simply impossible. Upon further reflection, I don’t think it is possible to base our teaching practice on a single, influential person. Over the course of the day, a number of people did respond to my request. But then Chelsea O”Leary wrote this:

That got me thinking. Would it be possible to begin compiling a list of influential authors, teachers, thinkers, philosophers, etc. who influence our collective teaching practice. Would it be possible through this blog, a quick Google Form and Social Media to create a definitive list of influential people? Probably not, but it will definitely be a really interesting experiment.

The Experiment

For the next few weeks I am going to share this post in my Twitter feed. I am going to see how much information we can gather. The “ask” is very simple. Visit the Google Form through the link below and complete the questions. I will compile the information and share what I receive.

I always tell my students and the teachers I work with that Social Media has the power to extend the walls of our classrooms. This will be the proof of that statement. If you don’t wish to participate, that’s fine, but it would be really helpful if you would pass this along and promote it. Thanks very much!

THE LINK

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

