Skip to content

Auld Lang Syne – A Final Post for 2014

December 31, 2014

Robbie Burns’ line from the traditional New Year’s Eve tune means “times long past.” While 2014 is definitely not yet long past, this is a traditional time to reflect upon the year that was. But I don’t want to do that. Like everyone, my year had times of great happiness and joy, times of sadness and fear, and times of uncertainty. I don’t believe that is unique to my situation.

For my final post of 2014, I want to express my thanks and gratitude. First, to my wife, Laurel. This year I left a job that I had for almost 15 years to begin another phase of my career. Through house hunting, the stress of moving and the sadness of leaving our friends behind, she supported me. This was not an easy decision for us and without her support it would never have happened. She is an amazing partner and mother and a brilliant educator.

I am thankful and filled with gratitude for my family, who have also been supportive of the changes that we have made in our lives. Our move took us further away from some family and brought us closer to others. This creates a mixed emotion of course. But, I have discovered over the past five months, that physical distance can be conquered.

I am thankful to live where we do and to have the certainty of employment. So many people in our community experience difficulty making ends meet. This is not a concern for us and for that I am so thankful.

Finally, I am thankful for all that I have learned and for everything that I am able to do. I have written before that I love what I do. I have always loved being a teacher and working with kids. While my role is no longer as a front-line classroom teacher, I still get to work with students and have a positive impact on them through their teachers. There is a lot of uncertainty in the world of education in Alberta. But, I also see a great deal of excitement and energy being put forward by visionary teachers and administrators. I am very thankful that I am able to work and learn from these people as we look at how to prepare our students to become leaders and innovators themselves.

So, with that, I end my blog for 2014. I hope to continue writing and learning throughout 2015. I hope you all have a wonderful, healthy, safe, 2015! Happy New Year!

From → New Year

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

