Skip to content

I Love You To The Moon

March 3, 2016

Over the past few days, I have been witness to a great deal of ugliness, hatred, and ignorance. I have seen adults refer to LGBTQ kids as evil, shameful, mentally ill, and worse. I am saddened and angered by all of this. I wasn’t sure how to express all of this, so I wrote my boys, Patrick (13) and Andrew (5) a letter. I will share it with both of them.

Dear Boys,

Over the last few days, I have seen some horrible things said about children in our province. Most of these things were said by adults, many who are scared but don’t really know how to say so. It has left me feeling very sad. But, I want you both to know something: I Love You!

At 5 and 13 you have so much yet to learn and so many questions to ask, but you need never question whether I love you – that is without question. More than that, I will love always love you. If you come to me and say to me “Dad, I’m gay,” I will tell you I love you. If you come to me and say to me “Dad, want to live my life as a girl because that is who I truly am,” I will tell you I love you. You will never have to wonder about that.

My job as a parent would not be to question whether you are straight, gay, bisexual or transgender. My job would not be curing you of some affliction, because, you would not be sick. My job would be, as it always has been, to love you and keep you safe.

I will be honest with you and tell you that it might take me some time to adjust to what you told me. But, that is about me and not about you. And no matter how long that takes, you will always have my love, protection, and support. You must also know that I will fight tirelessly for you, as I always have, to ensure you have the same rights and opportunities as other people.  I will be in your corner. I will be your defender, supporter, and advocate. I will never shame you, bully you, or call you names. I must be honest, other people might. But that is all about them and their issues, not about you.

Boys, I don’t care if you are straight, gay, bisexual or transgender. All I want for you both is to be happy and safe. And, to eat your broccoli.

All my love now and always,

Dad

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

